Finalists announced for the 2012 Davey O’Brien QB Award

November 20, 2012

Will freshman Johnny Manziel take home the Davey O'Brien award?

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the three finalists for the 2012 Davey O’Brien Quarterback Award.  Either Collin Klein (Sr., Kansas State), Johnny Manziel (Fr., Texas A&M) or Braxton Miller (So., Ohio State) will be recognized as the nation’s best quarterback during The Home Depot College Football Awards show at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 6:30 p.m. (CT).

Fans have an opportunity to help determine who wins this prestigious award by voting on-line as often as once daily at  Voting will close at noon (CT) on December 2nd.

To help in your decision process, below are brief bios of the three finalists:

Collin Klein, Kansas State

The senior from Loveland, Colo. has quarterbacked the Kansas State Wildcats to the top of the Big 12 Conference and into the national spotlight. Through 11 games, Klein has passed for 2,306 yards and 14 touchdowns while rushing for 787 yards and 20 touchdowns, becoming the first quarterback at a Bowl Championship Series school to record at least 20 rushing touchdowns and 10 passing touchdowns in back-to-back seasons.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Manziel has had a record-setting season. The redshirt freshman became the fifth player and first freshman in Football Bowl Subdivision history to pass for at least 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a season, and his 4,161 yards of total offense are a school record. The dual-threat quarterback leads the SEC in rushing (101.27 yards per game), total offense (378.27 yards per game) and scoring (9.27 points per game).

Braxton Miller, Ohio State

In his second season as the Ohio State Buckeyes’ starting quarterback, Miller has led his team to a perfect 11-0 record. He has proved to be a defense’s worst nightmare amassing 1,214 yards, which ranks him second in the Big Ten, and 13 touchdowns on the ground while throwing for 1,850 yards and 14 scores.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

The Davey O’Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.